State of Samoa

Capital: Apia       HDI: 0.702 (105th)

Language: English, Samoan

GDP (PPP): $1.046 billion

Currency: Tala

Population: 194,899

The Independent State of Samoa, commonly known as Samoa and, until 1997, known as Western Samoa, is a unitary parliamentary democracy with eleven administrative divisions. The two main islands are Savai’i and Upolu with four smaller islands surrounding the landmasses. The capital city is Apia. The Lapita people discovered and settled the Samoan islands around 3,500 years ago. They developed a unique language and cultural identity.

Western Samoa was admitted to the United Nations on 15 December 1976.The entire island group, which includes American Samoa, was called “Navigator Islands” by European explorers before the 20th century because of the Samoans’ seafaring skills. Official languages are English and Samoan (Gagana Fa’asāmoa), which is also spoken in American Samoa.





    Samoa Forums

    This forum is empty.

    Oh bother! No topics were found here!

    You must be logged in to create new topics.

    Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Service |  Rules Help  | ©2016 LinkGlobalBiz 

    Log in with your credentials


    Forgot your details?

    Create Account